I recently met up with Munchkin, who has been persuading me to try this place for a while now. When we reached the restaurant at 6pm, we were greeted by 4 waiters and an empty restaurant. What was more worrying is that they had an ongoing Groupon promotion. While the place had good reviews on tripadvisor, I was skeptical from the start. Even the name Mahal (expensive) gave me the perception that I will be spending an arm and a leg for a meal here.

After we placed our order, we were served with a free starter – a basket of papadum and a mint-yoghurt chutney. The papadum was fresh, crunchy and not oily, while the chutney was sharp and cool tasting. What a lovely combination.

papadum
Papadum and mint-yoghurt chutney

We waited for about 15 to 20 minutes and our mains were served – to the delight of our hungry bellies!

rice
Plain briyani rice (RM7.50) – basmati rice cooked with spices and herbs  

The briyani was tasty on its own and the portion was good for 2 persons. My only critic is that I would have preferred the briyani slightly more moist and buttery. Certain parts of the rice was also a little clumpy and hard, even though it was cooked all the way through.

pakora
Vegetable pakora (RM9.90) – potatoes, cauliflower, onions, coated in a crunchy batter and dusted with a salty dried spice mix

The pakora was delicious and I could have eaten the entire plate by myself! It was served with chilli sauce (similar to those found in supermarkets) on the side, but I preferred it either with the mint chutney or on its own.

palak_paneer
Palak paneer (RM15.50) – fresh spinach puree and cottage cheese sauteed with mild spices

May it be with potatoes or cheese, palak is a dish i can never resist. So when I saw that palak paneer was a speciality of the restaurant, it was a no brainer and I certainly was not disappointed! Although the dish was heavy and creamy, it was balanced out with the fresh flavours from the spinach and green chilies. The dish also had a generous helping of sautéed paneer crumbled at the top.

lamb_curry
Dhuan Gosht (RM24.90) – BBQ flavoured lamb cooked with herbs and spices

I really enjoyed the BBQ and smoky flavour of this dish. The lamb was not tough or gamey, although it was a little on the oily side.

We finally downed all the creaminess and ghee in masala tea (RM6.90), which I found surprisingly good. It even reminded me of my traveling days in India. The tea was concentrated, milky, and had a strong flavour of cardamom and clove. Sugar was also served on the side –  a nice and thoughtful touch.

At this point, it was probably about 7pm and the place was still deserted. The waiters were efficient and polite in clearing the table, and asked if we would like some desserts. I had a glance through the menu and upon seeing Gulab Jamun and Gajar Halwa, I began to worry if the desserts could be too sweet for my liking. But since I liked the dishes I’ve tried thus far, I decided to go for their almond ice cream.

ice_cream
Almond kulfi (Rm9.90) – homemade almond ice cream

The ice cream was a lovely end to dinner. It was milky, had a good concentration of blended almonds and was not too sweet.  I did however find some icicles in the neatly chopped cubes.

Overall, Sheesh Mahal was a pleasant surprise and find. The restaurant may not look like much, but the food was good and parking was a breeze (free). Prices were not cheap but it’s what you would expect when compared to other restaurants in the same range. I will definitely return to this place.

Food:
Ambience:
Service:

Plan your visit:

33, Jalan SS 15/5a, Ss 15, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

+603-5621 3671

Opens for lunch (11am-3pm) and dinner (6pm-10.30pm)

Visit Sheesh Mahal’s Facebook page

