Synopsis for Harmony:

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. Three young girls however decided to stand up against this perfect world by attempting suicide via starvation. It did not work and the girls continue with their lives. One of the girl, Tuan Kirie, grows up to be a member of World Health Organization (WHO). As a crisis threatens peace and harmony, Tuan rediscovers another member of the suicide pact, and together, they must help save the planet… from itself.

(Source: Viz Media) 

The above image (Source: MyAnimeList) and synopsis was all I knew from random browsing. The cover girl looks pretty, story line seems interesting, so I thought I’d give the movie a shot. Do be warned that Harmony is about 2 hours long and for an anime, this is rare.

It was a good movie. I thought the first 1 hour and 40 minutes was amazing, until the protagonist confronted the mastermind.  And suddenly, everything comes to an abrupt end.

You are then left questioning the meaning of the last 2 hours. Did I just waste my time? What does this mean? Why did she do what she did? What just happened?

It felt hopeless trying to decipher the movie that night. I decided to hit the sack and let my subconscious mind takeover with the analysing.

The next morning, things weren’t any better.

I figured it’s probably best to let this one pass.

Then, talks on the radio went on about Trump’s win, Brexit, hate crimes, and national harmony laws. Almost immediately, a gush of excitement came through me.

People need to watch this. They have to.

People talk about first world problems. The sense of unjust in the developing nations. Freedom to choose. Our rights. Reason for living. This movie is beyond sci-fi. It is interactive. It is engaging. It makes you think. Makes you question. What does it mean to be human? 

While I was searching for a suitable trailer, as an introduction to our fellow readers, I came across the writer of the Harmony novel – Project Itoh.

If you are interested to know more of the background of Harmony and of Project Itoh’s other creations, do check out this short video. You can jump straight to 4:50 mins for the Harmony trailer. The official trailer kills the suspense, so I’d suggest you skip that and watch this instead.

Please enjoy Harmony and I am now looking forward to watch Project Itoh’s recently released Empire of Corpses (Shisha no Teikoku).

Content:
Artwork:
Overall:

