The long awaited Gula Melaka based beer has finally arrived!! It was a good 3 weeks, and I can finally get my hands on it.

“In September 2016, two beer geeks from Taps Beer Bar travelled to Tokyo, Japan to brew a Gula Melaka beer at the Tokyo Brewing Lab.”

Gila Gula Melaka Beer, a Brown Ale, is the creation from 2 owners of Taps Beer Bar in collaboration with Hitachino Brewery in Japan with a vision to create a truly Malaysian beer.

In conjunction with the Gila Gula Melaka beer, the chef came up with a Caramelised Roast Pork and a Sambal Pork with sourdough beer bites. From 22nd – 25th of December, there is a Gula Melaka package (RM50) to help you save some moolah. This includes:

  • 1 Gila Gula Melaka Beer (RM32 a la carte)
  • 1 Salted Gula Melaka Ice-Cream (RM8 a la carte), and
  • Caramelised Roast Pork or Sambal Pork with Sourdough (RM20 a la carte)

My friends and I tried the Gula Melaka package with Caramelised Roast Pork.

beer_pork
Gula Melaka Beer & Caramelised Roast Pork – is there a better combination?

The beer was balanced, medium bodied, and had a medium bitter-hop flavoured aftertaste. It was not too overwhelming and easy to drink.

The Caramelised Roast Pork reminded me of the Hokkien Style Roast Pork with garlic and black soy sauce. But Taps’s Roast Pork had a gentler demeanour. Caramel, garlic and coriander worked in unison, roast pork’s skin still had its crispiness, and the procurement of the pork was thoughtful with a good balance of lean and fatty meat.

We also ordered a duck pizza – Count Duckula. Moderately thin crusted, with cheese, caramelised onions, rosemary and duck slices. Once again, a lovely marriage of flavours. The rosemary however acted as a double edge sword – while taming the gamey-ness of the duck, the rosemary can also be overpowering. Nevertheless, this is a dish I’ll recommend to anyone.

duck_pizza
Count Duckula (RM27) – does not disappoint in name and in taste

In addition to this, we had 2 more beers – 2 Brothers Little Apple Cider (Australia) and Blanche de Bruxelles (Belgium). It’s my second time having this Apple Cider. I thought it was a “must have” to introduce to one of my friends who is a first timer with craft beers.

bruxelles_cider
Blanche de Bruxelles (left – RM28) & Little Apple Cider (right – RM25)

2 Brothers is a brewery based in Melbourne, Australia.The first 2 Brothers beer I had was the Taxi Pilsner from the Wine Fiesta event this year. And by accident, I tried the same brewery’s Little Apple Cider at a different occasion.  Its Taxi Pilsner is a German style pilsner. Bright, fresh, flavourful, smooth and very easy to drink. Little Apple Cider gave a very similar feel. Since then, 2 Brothers have been in my good books and I look forward to trying more of its products.

While Blanche de Bruxelles was too light to my liking, it was a more approachable beer. And midway drinking it, I thought, “This tastes so familiar. Tastes like Hoegaarden. Maybe more tasty.” And baam! It hit me. I had the same exact drink during my last visit here!!

How forgetful of me.

I’ve thought of keeping a log for the beers I’ve tried, but have yet to get to it. I guess now’s the time.

There’s actually an App that helps you keep track and rate or write reviews on beers. Meet Untappd. It lets you share what and where you’re drinking. For my case, it lets me keep track of the beers I’ve tried, and helps me avoid drinking unimpressionable beers twice.

“One more barrel of Gula Melaka beer left at Mont Kiara” according to Taps Beer Bar’s FB page at 2am today.  

Go get ’em before they’re all gone!!

Have a great weekend and Happy Christmas everyone!!!

